The School Governing Body

Our governing board has three core functions.  These are to:

1. Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2. Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

3.  Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Our Governors are all either elected or appointed for a four year term according to our Instrument of Government, which is approved by the Local Authority (West Berkshire), in order to ensure we have a cross section of opinions and experience. We all have the primary aim of providing an outstanding education to the children of The Willows.

Throughout the year, members of the Governing Body attend applicable training courses and forums arranged by the Local Authority, we also have access to many online tools so that we are up to date with current policy and legislation.

You can find out more about the members of the governing board below as well as the most recent membership and attendance register. 

We do this in meetings which we hold monthly. Our Instrument of Government can be viewed by clicking on the button below.

The Willows Primary School Full Governing Board


Michele Blain

Michele is our Chair of Governors. She joined us as Chair in Spring 2018 and has brought additional skills and qualities to the governing board; not least in her role as a National Leader of Governance.

You can read the Chair of Governor's termly updates by clicking on the buttons below. 

Huw Griffiths


Huw joined the governing body in May 2018. He is a data specialist and has experience working with and analysing primary schools end of key stage results.







Peter Rimmer

Peter has been part of the Governing body since 2017. His previous experience in HR is an asset to the FGB.



JO Macarthur

Jo has been the Head of the Willows since September 2018 although she has been working with the school since Autumn 2017.


Billy Drummond


Billy is a local authority councillor for Greenham. He has a long history with the school and is the longest standing member of the FGB. He is passionate about the school and the community and takes an active role in monitoring behaviour and attendance matters at school. 


Steven Teasdale

Steven is a long-standing member of the local community and is passionate about ensuring that all children get equal opportunities in school. He has a wealth of experience in the construction sector and he chairs the finance committee. 

mike Steer

Mike is the Deputy Head of the Willows and is the staff governor on the FGB. He was an associate governor for his first 2 years at the school.